[Skip to Content]

Harry Shwachman Award and Margaret Stallings Distinguished Service Award

Submission Deadline: May 1, 2024


The Shwachman award
is given by NASPGHAN to a person who hs made major, life long scientific or educational contributions fo the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology or nutirition in North America. The award is designed to preferentially honor a member of NASPGHAN for his/her achievements in the field.

The Margaret Stallings NASPGHAN Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member of NASPGHAN in recognition of excellence and service to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition by achieving national and/or international recognition in the field.  Both physicians and non-physicians are eligible for this award.  

These awards will be given at the 2024 Annual Meeting in Hollywood, FL.


Nominees for the Harry Shwachman Award will be judged on the basis of major lifelong scientific or educational contributions to the field. The additional criteria for Shwachman nominees are a record of advocacy for child digestive diseases, outstanding administrative service to the field and lifelong scientific or educational contributions to our discipline. While service to NASPGHAN will be positively regarded, service to NASPGHAN is not an a priori requirement of the Shwachman award.

The Margaret Stallings NASPGHAN Distinguished Service Award normally will be granted to individuals who have made major contributions to child health in the fields of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology or nutrition. Awardees should not be members of the NASPGHAN Awards Committee, councilors or officers at the time of selection. 

Application Details:

The primary nominator should upload the following by May 1, 2024:

1.       Their primary nominating letter

2.       Up to two supporting letters

3.       Nominee’s complete curriculum vitae

Selection: A 2024 Awards Review Committee will review all active nominations and make recommendations to the NASPGHAN Council who will make the final decision regarding the recipient. The Awards Review committee is comprised of past awardees, and members intentionally selected by leadership to reflect the diversity of our Society.

Nominations will be reconsidered for a total period of three years (two years after the initial nomination).  Nominated candidates then will be removed from the list of candidates, but could be reconsidered on the basis of a new nomination.

Submit your nomination for the Harry Shwachman and/or Margaret Stallings Distinguished Service Award

Past Harry Shwachman Award Recipients: Past Margaret Stallings NASPGHAN Distinguished Service Award Recipients
1987 – Claude C. Roy, MD 2003 – Joseph Fitzgerald, MD
1988 – Arnold Silverman, MD 2004 – James Keating, MD
1989 – Murray Davidson, MD 2005 – Kathleen Schwarz, MD
1990 – J. Richard Hamilton, MD 2006 – Harvey Sharp, MD
1991 – Otakar Koldovsky, MD, PhD 2007 – Susan Henning, PhD
1992 – Samuel Fomon, MD 2008 – Richard B. Colletti, MD
1993 – Richard J. Grand, MD 2009 – Fredric Daum, MD
1994 – Gerard B. Odell, MD 2010 – Harland Winter, MD
1995 – W. Allan Walker, MD 2011 – Ivor Hill, MD
1996 – Joyce Gryboski, MD 2012 – Alan Leichtner, MD
1997 – John B. Watkins, MD 2013 – John Udall, MD
1998 – Marvin Ament, MD 2014 – Melvin Heyman, MD
1999 – William Balistreri, MD 2015 – Kathleen Motil, MD, PhD
2000 – William Klish, MD 2016 - David Gremse, MD
2001 – Jon Vanderhoof, MD 2017 - Eric Sibley, MD, PhD
2002 – Buford Nichols, MD 2018 - Michael R. Narkewicz, MD
2003 – Peter Durie, MD 2019 - Neil LeLeiko, MD, PhD
2004 – Fayez Ghishan, MD 2020 - Paul E. Hyman, MD
2005 – Frederick Suchy, MD 2021 - Barry Wershil, MD
2006 – Judith Sondheimer, MD 2022 – Athos Bousvaros, MD
2007 – Emanuel Lebenthal, MD 2023 - Maria Mascarenhas, MBBS
2008 – Michael Thaler, MD  
2009 – Ronald J. Sokol, MD  
2010 -  Philip M. Sherman, MD, FRCPC  
2011 – David H. Perlmutter, MD  
2012 – Alessio Fasano, MD  
2013 -  Mitchell Cohen, MD  
2014 – Peter Whitington, MD  
2015 – D. Brent Polk, MD  
2016 – Wayne Lencer, MD  
2017 -  Kathleen B. Schwarz, MD  
2018 – John A. Barnard, MD  
2019 -  Anne Griffiths, MD, FRCPC  
2020 – Mark E. Lowe, MD, PhD  
2021 – Glenn T. Furuta, MD  
2022 – Carlo Di Lorenzo, MD  
2023 - Nicola Jones, MD, PhD